Skip to content

Homework Due Wednesday, February 9

February 7, 2011

Note: The deadline for essay #1 has been pushed back to Monday, February 14.

Part One: Write a complete rough draft of essay #1. In MLA format. Print the sucker out.

Part Two: On a separate sheet of paper, write a one or two sentence description of the purpose of each paragraph of your essay. This sentence should address issues such as:

  • What is the paragraph doing?
  • Why is the paragraph in this particular location in the essay?

Your sheet of paper should look something like this:

Summary

  1. This paragraph introduces the essay that I am summarizing and provides relevant background information that my reader will need to know in order to understand the essay I am summarizing, the topic, and the summary itself.
  2. This paragraph…

Response

  1. Etc. etc. etc………
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany Kozal permalink
    February 8, 2011 3:13 pm

    So is this the homework that is due on the the 14th? or is this homework due tomorrow?

    • February 8, 2011 3:14 pm

      Due tomorrow. Rough draft plus the paragraph-purpose thing, which we will use as part of a peer review project in class tomorrow.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    February 8, 2011 4:31 pm

    “I try to write the homework assignments due Wednesday to take approximately 1-1.5 hours to complete.”

    • February 8, 2011 4:47 pm

      The original assignment (that was assigned and handed out two weeks ago) due tomorrow before the extension was the final draft of the paper, rather than just a rough draft. If you would like to discuss my assignment scheduling with me, please do talk to me before or after class or in my office hours. I imagine that if you are having difficulty writing 3-5 pages for this essay after Monday’s homework and our class discussion, that there is an issue of needing more instruction on a particular aspect of your writing. If you remain anonymous, I am unable to address this need, which will be more productive for you as the student and me as the instructor.

Leave a comment